The Worst Election Ever 2016: What Have We Learned?

Who am I? A political expert? No. A pundit? Not exactly. Am I a liberal? Nope. A conservative? I wouldn’t say so. So what am I? I don’t have a party affiliation – not libertarian, not independent – I simply have no affiliation whatsoever, because I don’t believe that the two party system is effective. Washington himself warned America that a two-party system would deeply divide this country and harm our system of governance.

There are political reasons that I have issues with the two-party system, but they aren’t the reason I’m writing this article. This is an article of speculation, coming from a girl who has spend many years listening to both sides of the political spectrum, from a girl who tends to enjoy thinking of herself as philosophical open-minded and resolved to understand the truth, resolved to recognize and try to mitigate her inherent biases. I’ve been lucky enough that I have family and friends from every side of the political spectrum, so I have listened to, understood, and integrated many differing views.

The most recent election was a deeply tiring and divisive one. Journalists and documentaries have been noticing the trend in political polarization in America for decades now. But the election of 2016 has been historic – never before have we seen two candidates so diametrically opposed in personality, philosophy, and political views. And while it is true that Trump won the electoral college votes by a significant landslide, a glance at the popular vote will see that the popular vote was split almost completely down the middle, with as little as I believe 200,000 votes determining the marginal winner (Clinton). I think that is evidence enough that the people in this country have deeply, deeply differing views.

As evidence came in last night and mounted that Trump would emerge victorious, Twitter blew up with trending hashtags such as #AmericaIsOverParty, #United States of Anxiety, #WTF America, #He’s Not My President, and #Canada – the latter which started trending after Canada released a tweet that they would be happy to accept immigrants of all backgrounds and cultures – shortly thereafter, the website for Canadian Immigration went offline because it could not handle the server load of Americans investigating a ticket out of the USA. I even remember my roommate, a good friend’s boyfriend, looking back at us with near tears in his eyes, as he said, “Trumps going to win” – in utter shock and disbelief. The reactions from friends was overwhelmingly one of fear and sadness – the same as I was seeing from Clinton supporters on Twitter. It appeared a sentiment shared by all of the democrats, a common zeitgeist among them – the ridicule and joy of victory was made all the sweeter for those on the other side of the spectrum.

From what I could tell browsing the voices of people across the USA, some were deeply afraid – some even broke down crying when they learned that Hillary had lost. Was this an overreaction? Is the winner of the election such a big deal that it could lead people to not just ironic annoyance, but severe emotional distress? Yes. We need to evaluate this emotional reaction from a position of political neutrality. Let’s forget the question of whether Hillary is fit to be president, or whether Trump is better suited for the role. Why is it that an election can be responsible for such deep and genuine fear for some? Admittedly, many of those breaking down in tears or claiming that they were afraid for themselves seemed to be youth – some under the age of 18 – others young adults. But this disparity could have also been because these age groups are somewhat more likely to post on social media in general. But there is some evidence of some potentially more serious ramifications of this fear – that it should not be taken lightly, and shows something deeper and far more concerning then mere political polarization has occurred in this election. Those who are LGBT, minorities, and immigrants, are legitimately afraid.

 

 

 

 

 

The following video is pop superstar Miley Cyrus breaking down in tears due to Trump’s victory (though she was a bit more reasonable then a lot of the people on twitter)

 

Here is the comedian Amy Schumer expressing similar thoughts, though without quite as many tears (well, none we could see, anyhow):

The deeply personal and emotional division between the political left and the political right has not always been so extreme and fragmented. Nowadays, you may have noticed that if you want a cordial dinner conversation, it is best to avoid the topic of politics entirely – whether you are a liberal or a conservative, most are very emotionally invested in their political affiliation, and questioning its legitimacy has become on par with questioning somebody’s faith – and just as likely to be offensive. Ideally, wouldn’t we be citizens who were detached, emotionally, from our political affiliation? Wouldn’t we wish to discuss our views rationally, and calmly, to ensure that the politics that we believe in are not a matter of upbringing or faith, but truly the legitimate method for ensuring the best standards of living for everybody? Just like a court case requires both a prosecutor and a defense attorney to be truly just, we need to be able to debate our beliefs about politics rationally and dispassionately to be citizens that are informed and engaged with truth, and in order to reduce and admit to our biases by acknowledging the points of the opposition.

For that very reason, I am opposed to the two party system. When you agree to a two party system, you have no choice but to accept the entirety of what your affiliated party stands for. What if there are some fiscal conservative policies that you believe are effective, however you have liberal policies on social justice that are more fair? With the two party system, there is no moderation – you have to take on the entire philosophy of the party you stand behind. And as the years have gone by, both democrats and republicans have become to view each other in increasingly vehement and dehumanizing terms – despite living in the same country, we see those of opposing political affiliations as ‘brainwashed’, ‘idiotic’, ‘misinformed’, ‘immature’, ‘bigoted’ or ‘entitled’ – we rarely attempt to understand their perspective or acknowledge that both sides of the political spectrum might have something of value to offer our nation.


At this point, I am going to transition the article a little bit – to a place of the speculative and vaguely conspiratorial. Take this in the spirit it is intended, perhaps – not at face value, but as food for thought. As a preface : I disliked both candidates a great deal, and did  not believe either of them would make good presidents. But I have spent time thinking about what happened in this election, because it has shocked the world.

Hillary Clinton was ‘The Powers That Be’s Candidate, for lack of a better term. Even the mainstream media, during the beginning of the electoral process, admit that Trump and Bernie were ‘outsiders contending for the throne’ – Clinton is obviously not a Washington outsider. She’s part of the inner circle. Whether you believe the things that have been said about her by the far right wing, whispers of Bohemian Grove involvement and Satanic Witchcraft, it is true that she is an insider. Her victory in the primaries was a given. Trump, however, was a wildcard from the get-go –  nobody expected him to come as far as he did. They did not expect him to win in the primaries, and certainly the mainstream media laughed him off as a joke throughout most of the process of the election. Talk show hosts on late night installments made fun of him regularly. He was declared the ubiquitous loser of all three debates. Polling industries calculated his odds, for much of the election, as under 40% – sometimes as low as 20% for victory.

On the day of the election, the experts were not expecting a Trump victory. Even the Trump campaign, on the day of election, was feeling relatively grim in the war room. When the results started pouring in from across the country, everything changed.  Overwhelmingly, states were favoring Trump, and he begun leading in not only the swing states, but other states that had been overwhelmingly democratic and were expected to side with Hillary. I believe the mainstream media was utterly shocked.

 

If you are conspiratorial, if you believe that the election is rigged – a dog-and-pony show, the election of 2016 is what I honestly believe has flown in the face of this theory. It is not rigged – if it had of been, Trump wouldn’t have won. “They” did not want him to win, because the man is a loose cannon, and whether or not he will “play ball” with traditional Washington interests is anybody’s guess. Yet he won, despite ‘TPTB’ pulling out all the stops in the favor of Hillary, by all means ‘Their’ candidate – the one backed by starlets like Miley Cyrus, Lady GaGa, Katy Perry, and Amy Schumer – Illuminati queens if ever there was such a thing.

Despite the entirety of the Mainstream Media gunning against him, despite the endless social media campaigns to plow against Trump and sew favor for Hillary, Trump still won. I think the guy is quite possibly mad, but there is one thing we can now say, now that he has won: the system is not rigged. It is manipulated heavily in order to corral certain sentiments among the masses – the media campaign against Trump is evidence of this – there was clear journalistic bias against him. But these manipulations did not work in the 2016 election. The people choose who they wanted to choose.

[    Now – let me say this, for clarification:  It was absolutely reprehensible of Trump to say what he did at his rally after the 3rd presidential debate: “I will accept the results of the presidential election – IF I WIN “. There is really no excuse for such unsportsmanlike and vaguely threatening statements, that are ultimately rather childish – (if I win, I win; if I lose, shit’s rigged). ]


Online, it’s interesting to examine the differences in political affiliation dividing various well-known sites.

The infamous 4chan is over the moon, and of course their memes are infamous. Particularly, /pol/ is pretty sure they memed Trump’s victory into manifest reality.

Godlike Productions practically invented Trump in a fever dream, and even they did not expect the man to win – they seemed relatively shocked that their conspiratorial ideas of him losing due to the Illuminati’s rigged system utterly invalidated by the election’s results.

What about the most normie-centric place for opinions? Facebook is a warzone – friends, families, and acquaintances in literally bloodthirsty division over the results of the nation’s most heated and divisive election – ever.

 

 

In other news, protests are everywhere.

 

 


 

I’m going to wrap this up with a couple of random notes – this is the jarringly insane – timeline jumps, choronzon and all manner of occult oddity – so leave now if you want to end on a earthbound note.

I was joking with a friend of mine, a close friend, in october/november of 2015, when Trump’s candidacy as a republican nominee was first confirmed. I told my friend that if he won the election, it would truly be the reign of chaos. Neither of us believed it could or would happen – it seemed funny. I suppose I should mention that The Simpson’s predicted a Trump presidency at least a decade ago. Prescience or sheer luck? Do the past and the future intermix?

Last December, a close friend asked me who would win the election. I was in a stupor at that time – practically in wonderland, maybe a bit insane. I said, Trump would win. I have no idea what possessed me to say this – I did not particularly like Trump, and to my rational senses I didn’t honestly feel he was electable. But at that time, I was completely and utterly certain he would win. Perhaps it was because I was still quite a GodlikeProductions devout back then, and I somehow felt that they would manifest his victory. Perhaps it was an insane prescience. I spoke not out of belief or conviction but out of that one thing, prescience. A certainty.

There was one thing I did not remember doing, however. As the results of the elections started coming in last night, my friend and roommate looked over at me and she said, “I’m about to owe you ten dollars”.

“What?” I’d replied in genuine surprise.

“You bet me ten dollars last December that Trump would win the election”.

I was stunned. Here’s the thing – I’m not the gambling type. Betting is one of my least favorite of past-times. But I’d shaken on it with her. I was that sure he’d win.

I was speaking to a friend in my Chatzy room last night – that’s http://us19.chatzy.com/BlueMonarch – she simply was convinced from the bottom of her heart Trump would lose. It took awhile for her to consciously accept that he’d won. She’d said, regarding the election:

Seer: I imagine…if ‘timelines’ are a thing. That nights like tonight are where they are divided

I think she may have been right. Anyway, I’ll leave you all off with this thought – my reply to her…

Ȼaylus Δrk: That feel when you’re separated into the chaos timeline

